Home > Compliance, Governance, Humor > SCCE Survey Shows Companies Lag On Social Networking Policies

SCCE Survey Shows Companies Lag On Social Networking Policies

Preserved GWR locomotive Bradley Manor, until ...
Image via Wikipedia

Based on my experience as an auditor, it will be a long time before most companies catch up and publish relevant and realistic social media policies.  Most are still struggling with simple email policies, and the meaning of Segregation of Duties!  The excerpt below from an article published by SCCE discuses this problem:

“On September 23, 2009, SCCE reported, “Apparently Social Media has caught many employers by surprise.” According to a recent survey conducted by the Society of Corporate Compliance and Ethics (SCCE) and the Health Care Compliance Association (HCCA), company policies have not yet caught up with the explosion of Social Media usage by their employees.”

To read the full article click the link below:

Shared via AddThis

The train in the photo is carrying all the policies, guidelines and procedures missing from American public companies.   Look at it carefully, because if you are like me, you’ve heard the CFO and CIO constantly say that the dammed policies are coming soon.   When I ask, “but where are they now,” the answer is  always that they are on the train.   So here is the train, but where the heck is that station, and who is the woman with the bag?

Enhanced by Zemanta
  1. October 15, 2009 at 11:00 AM

    I dont know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work!🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    …..Frank Scurley

  2. October 16, 2009 at 1:21 PM

    Very good blog!

    I just visited your blog as recommended by a friend from Houston. I enjoy the way you present information and your often dry humor, especially the one about the Texas cowboy!

    Keep up the good work.

    Greg

  3. October 27, 2009 at 4:32 AM

    Very funny photo of the train full of policies…..

    I know who the lady in the station is. She works in my department but I can’t tell you her name.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

